Recipes

Chicken Pocket Pie

I have avoided chicken pot pie since the 1st grade. My first chicken pot pie was served to me in the school cafeteria. It was tasty at the time of eating it, but by end of the day I vomited the contents on my friend’s head. My conclusion: chicken pot pie = bad news.

Fast forward 17 years, I am researching the different types of savory pocket pies (empanadas, samosas, calzones, etc). I decided to take another chance on chicken pot pie but as a portable version. In my search, I discovered Shutterbean’s post. It looked so delectable that I had to make it. Whenever I make new food, I like to feed it to my friends. I took a batch to work and shared with a couple of my friends. The consensus: yummy, especially the crust. A recommendation: gravy for dipping, which sounds like heaven.

Mad Hungry: Feeding Men & Boys by Lucinda Scala Quinn, from which the recipe originated, will be an addition to my food library. Yesterday, I was able to make 11 pies from the dough recipe, but had filling to spare. Oddly enough today, I was able to make 12 pies from the same recipe.  Unfortunately I have no pictures, but Shutterbean’s are great.

Satisfy your mad hunger.
Kirby

Leave a comment